Diversity spotlight Thursday

There is a lot more diversity in books these days and that’s great. You can read a book about a bisexual character, you can read about mental illness, about what it’s like to be a person of colour and so on. Still though there need to be more diverse books. It’s incredibly important that stories with diverse characters are emphasized. For both children, young adults and adults to read literature and see themselves reflected in what there reading. I myself want to read more diversely. And so I’am participating in the meme created by bookshelves and paperbacks. This is a weekly meme that will feature three books.

1.  A diverse book you have read and enjoyed;
2. A diverse book that has already been released but you have not read;
3. A diverse book that has not yet been released.


Everything, Everything

everything-everything


Goodreads | Bookdepository


My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.


I adored this book. This book was such a quick and enjoyable read. I loved the writing style and the unique plot. Also the characters there were awesome. Here is a full review.


A Tragic Kind of Wonderful

a-tragic-kind-of-wonderful


Goodreads | Bookdepository


For sixteen-year-old Mel Hannigan, bipolar disorder makes life unpredictable. Her latest struggle is balancing her growing feelings in a new relationship with her instinct to keep everyone at arm’s length. And when a former friend confronts Mel with the truth about the way their relationship ended, deeply buried secrets threaten to come out and upend her shaky equilibrium.

As the walls of Mel’s compartmentalized world crumble, she fears the worst—that her friends will abandon her if they learn the truth about what she’s been hiding. Can Mel bring herself to risk everything to find out?


I have already said this once but this book is near and dear to my heart. It’s about mental illness and having different mental problems myself I can relate. At least I hope so.


Radio Silence

radio-silence


Goodreads | Bookdepository


What if everything you set yourself up to be was wrong?

Frances has always been a study machine with one goal, elite university. Nothing will stand in her way; not friends, not a guilty secret – not even the person she is on the inside.

But when Frances meets Aled, the shy genius behind her favourite podcast, she discovers a new freedom. He unlocks the door to Real Frances and for the first time she experiences true friendship, unafraid to be herself. Then the podcast goes viral and the fragile trust between them is broken.

Caught between who she was and who she longs to be, Frances’ dreams come crashing down. Suffocating with guilt, she knows that she has to confront her past…
She has to confess why Carys disappeared…

Meanwhile at uni, Aled is alone, fighting even darker secrets.

It’s only by facing up to your fears that you can overcome them. And it’s only by being your true self that you can find happiness.

Frances is going to need every bit of courage she has.


I am so excited for this book. I don’t know why. Maybe it’s the rave reviews it gets. Maybe it’s the interesting synopsis. For those of you who are fortunate enough to have already read it, how was it?


Connect with me elsewhere:

Goodreads | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter

Leave a Reply

