Top 5 Wednesday

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Samantha over on Goodreads.


Today’s top 5 Wednesday is al about book trends you’re tired of. What are some things you are tired of seeing that are trends in publishing? Maybe something that pops up on a lot of covers these days, or the popularity of certain tropes in a particular genre?


On to what I am tired of.

Diversity
There need to be more diverse books. I’ll admit it’s getting better but I still feel there is a lack of diverse books in the world. When a book is diverse, you often don’t know about it because it’s not advertised as such. Why not say a character is bisexual or a book is own voices, why?

Harmful tropes
Books that have homophobic or racist undertones. Although i haven’t read the book myself, I read a lot about Veronica Roth’s latest book Carve the Mark and how it has racism in it. I do not condone this. This behavior is atrocious, both from the author as well as the publisher.

Trilogies and series
Once in a while I love reading a trilogie or even a series but nowadays it’s almost all you can read. Everything is part of a trilogy/series, I can’t keep up anymore. I want a nice standalone book to read!

Movie covers on the book
Absolutely hate it. I know, i know they have to promote the movie as much as possible but do they have to do this by making a movie cover. It’s especially irritating when you can’t get the normal cover anywhere.

Similar covers 
That every other cover has to look like a cover in the Throne Of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas. Think of the Winners trilogy by Marie Rutkoski or the Shattered Realms trilogy by Cinda Williams Chima.

 


Connect with me elsewhere:

Goodreads | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter

Leave a Reply

