Shelf Control

Shelf control is a meme created by bookshelf fantasies. It’s a weekly feature in which you choose a book already on you shelf or ereader en do a blogpost about it.


This week I would like to focus my attention on the following book:

wintergirls


Goodreads | Bookdepository


Title: Wintergirls
Author: Laurie Halse Anderon
Published: 2009
Length: 278 pages

What it’s about (synopsis via Goodreads):
Dead girl walking”, the boys say in the halls.
“Tell us your secret”, the girls whisper, one toilet to another.
I am that girl.
I am the space between my thighs, daylight shining through.
I am the bones they want, wired on a porcelain frame.

Lia and Cassie are best friends, wintergirls frozen in matchstick bodies, competitors in a deadly contest to see who can be the skinniest. But what comes after size zero and size double-zero? When Cassie succumbs to the demons within, Lia feels she is being haunted by her friend’s restless spirit.

Laurie Halse Anderson explores Lia’s descent into the powerful vortex of anorexia, and her painful path toward recovery

How I got it:
I bought it via a site called bol.com.

When I got it:
A couple of weeks ago. It was one of my last book buys of the year 2016.

Why I want to read it:
It was a book that immediately peaked my interest. I myself have had anorexia and it’s nice to relate to a book. Other then that i want to read more diversely and reading about mental illness does just that.

 


Connect with me elsewhere:

Goodreads | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter

2 thoughts on “Shelf Control

Leave a Reply

